Kalpa (Tib. bskal.pa/fcfl/-pfl): Generically, an aeon or other nearly limitless length of time. In Buddhist cosmology, it has the specific meaning of a complete cycle of a universe (a mahakalpa or “great” kalpa) consisting of four stages:
1- emptiness,
2- formation,
3- maintenance, and
4- destruction.

Each of the four stages consists of twenty intermediate kalpas (or antahkalpas), each of which increases and declines.

CreativeMinds WordPress Plugin CM Tooltip Glossary
Bookmark the permalink.